Author Topic: Walleye Help  (Read 3764 times)

Offline 2ndlastcast

Walleye Help
« on: August 06, 2013, 12:30:36 pm »
Hello fellow fisherman. I have a friend that has recently purchased a cottage on Gerogian Bay, Midland (Victoria Harbour) to be exact. I don't have much info on Georgian bay fishing area. Although he is fairly new to fishing I have some experience on the water. We have located many bass but are have not located any Walleye. I've tried Jigging with a worm, Minnow and soft plastics and also tried trolling but no luck at all. We tried early morning at late evening but no luck. We are probably fishing in the wrong area. Just wondering if anyone knows any areas that we could try near us.  ???

Thanks for all your time and happy fishing,

2ndlastcast....
« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 09:47:02 am by 2ndlastcast »

GeorgianBay MessageBoard

• Advertisement

Offline PikeMasterBaiter

Re: Walleye Help
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2013, 04:33:23 pm »
Disclaimer - I do not fish for Walleye and I do not fish that area, but no body has commented so I will add my 2 cents.

It sounds like you are doing the right things. Finding fish on a new body of water is always tough. Unless you get some solid local advice, see action on your fishfinder, or come accross a textbook location I would personally keep the jigging to a minimum. Emphasise the trolling more and cover water to find them. I would think reef runners, bottom bouncers or 3-way rigs with small rapalas would be a good bet. I assume they would be deep this time of year but I fish mostly Pike and Musky I am sure you know what depths they are at, just make sure your trolling that depth range and cover ground. You will get to know the area very quickly doing that instead of jigging around everywhere. Jig when you find them...